People who have been charged with misdemeanor offenses often believe the charge is not serious, or they can just avoid a criminal record by pleading “no contest” or accepting probation. However, someone who has been charged with a misdemeanor and attempts to handle the charge without the assistance of an attorney can unknowingly be convicted of a criminal charge, which can remain on their criminal record for years to come. Further, misdemeanors can sometimes be viewed as a first strike for those who are subsequently convicted of other criminal charges.
Tallahassee Misdemeanor Defense Attorney
Therefore, it is important to hire an attorney who can assist you if you have been charged with a misdemeanor. An experienced attorney can guide you in entering an appropriate plea or defense, and in some cases, can even arrange to have the charge dismissed.
Contact Don Pumphrey, Jr. at (850) 681-7777 for a free and confidential consultation regarding your alleged misdemeanor offense. The firm proudly represent individuals throughout the Florida Panhandle, including the cities of Panama Beach, Tallahassee, Bonifay, Quincy, Freeport, Blountstown, Port St. Joe and Bristol, among others.
Examples of Misdemeanors in Florida
The firm have a great deal of experience representing all kinds of individuals accused of many different misdemeanor offenses. Although less serious than felonies, misdemeanors can still be difficult to defend, along with having the potential to stay on your permanent record.
Representation is also offered for those accused of misdemeanor theft. Considering this is a crime of trust, having a theft conviction on your criminal record can hurt your prospects of finding a job or getting into certain programs or schools.
Don and the legal team also have a strong comprehension of Florida DUI laws and have represented many individuals accused of their first DUI offense. This also extends to those who have been in trouble before, with the firm willing to work with Floridians accused of a second DUI offense.
The firm also works on cases that involve violent misdemeanors. This includes the allegation of misdemeanor assault, which can come with harsh potential sentences because of the fact that your are threatening another with physical injury.
Additionally, they also focus on individuals who are currently dealing with a misdemeanor domestic violence charge or have been accused of a violation of probation. No matter what the charge is, you can count of The Law Offices of Don Pumphrey, Jr.
Florida Misdemeanor Charges Information Center
Back to top
Classification and Penalties of Florida Misdemeanors
Misdemeanors, as defined in § 775.081 of the Florida Statutes, can either be misdemeanors of the first degree, or misdemeanors of the second degree. According to Florida Statutes §§ 775.082 and 775.083, misdemeanors of the first degree are much more serious, and can include imprisonment up to one year and/or fines up to $1,000. Second degree misdemeanors, which are less severe, can incur up to 60 days imprisonment and/or fines up to $500.
Back to top
Differences Between Felony and Misdemeanor Charges
Misdemeanors are often less serious charges than felonies, and usually carry less harsh punishments. Felonies frequently involve state prison time of more than a year, and misdemeanors can incur county jail time of one year or less. Additionally, fines for misdemeanors are lower than felony fines. However, habitual misdemeanor offenders can receive greater penalties.
Back to top
Habitual Misdemeanor Offenders
If someone receives four or more misdemeanors within a certain period of time, they can be classified as a habitual misdemeanor offender. Under Florida Statutes 775.0837, habitual misdemeanor offenders in Florida can be sentenced to mandatory prison time, mandatory commitment to a treatment program, or mandatory supervised detention.
Back to top
Avoid a Misdemeanor Criminal Record
Once you have been convicted of a misdemeanor, it may be on your criminal record for many years to come. However, it is possible to have your criminal record sealed or expunged with many misdemeanors. If your misdemeanor record is expunged in Florida, the court records will be destroyed, but the Florida Department of Law Enforcement will retain a copy of the record.
However, other governmental entities will not have access to the record. When you seal your record, certain government agencies will be allowed to access your criminal record, but the general public will not be able to see you have a criminal record.
Back to top
The Law Offices of Don Pumphrey, Jr. | Tallahassee Misdemeanor Defense Lawyer
If you have been charged with a misdemeanor in Leon County, Tallahassee, contact Don Pumphrey, Jr., of the Law Offices of Don Pumphrey, Jr. to discuss the particular facts of your case, and your possible defenses. There may be options to mitigate your charges, or have them dismissed altogether.
Hiring an aggressive attorney is your best option to avoid harsh penalties. Lawyer Don Pumphrey, Jr. is experienced in criminal defense, and will aggressively fight for your rights. Contact Don Pumphrey, Jr. at (850) 681-7777 for a consultation about your alleged misdemeanor charges.