Areas of Practice
Tallahassee Criminal Defense Attorney
In the event you are charged with a criminal offense in the Tallahassee area, including Franklin County, Gadsden County, Jefferson County, Leon County, Liberty County and Wakulla County, you will need hire an experienced attorney in many types of criminal defense to ensure you receive the best possible outcome in your situation.
Attorney Don Pumphrey, Jr. has handled thousands of criminal law cases, and has been representing those accused of criminal offenses for the past 12 years. Prior to opening his own firm, Don Pumphrey, Jr. gained valuable experience working as a law enforcement officer and an Assistant State Attorney for the State Attorney’s office in Pinellas County, Florida.
Although this site has invaluable information regarding numerous criminal charges in the Tallahassee area of Florida, there is no substitute for speaking to an actual lawyer. Every situation is different, and the particular facts of each case vary from person to person. Once you consult with attorney, Don Pumphrey, Jr., he will be able to develop the best defense to your criminal charge, or possibly find other mitigating factors to have your charges reduced, or even dismissed.
Don Pumphrey, Jr. is skilled and qualified to assist you in your legal defense in many aspects of the following areas:
- Drunk Driving / DUI
- Read more about the penalties for a first, second, third or subsequent drunk driving offense under Florida law. Our website also explains the pros and cons of refusing to take a chemical test of your blood, breath, or urine. Read more about enhanced penalties for a blood or breath alcohol content over .15 or cases involving a passenger who is under the age of 18 years old.
- Serious Traffic Violations
- Our attorneys represent clients on a variety of serious traffic offenses including fleeing and eluding a law enforcement officer, driving while license suspended as a habitual traffic offender, driving with no valid driver's license, and drunk driving.
- Drug Charges
- Read more about how Florida treats drug charges from simple possession of a controlled substance to more serious charges such as possession with intent to sale or deliver, charged involving delivery or sell of a controlled substance, possession of a drug house, and trafficking or armed trafficking.
- Marijuana Charges
- Florida's laws on marijuana / cannabis / weed are draconian. Any drug conviction, including a misdemeanor conviction for possession of marijuana less than 20 grams carries with it a two year driver's license revocation. Other serious consequences attach to your right to obtain financial aid or pursue certain higher educational opportunities. Read more about how we aggressively fight these cases to protect our clients.
- Domestic Violence
- Domestic violence charges range from assault to battery to more serious felony charges such as domestic battery by strangulation or with serious bodily injury. Related charges include interference with a 911 call and child endangerment.
- Violent Crimes
- Crimes of violence including assault, battery, aggravated assault, battery on a law enforcement officer, kidnapping, and sexual battery. Find out more about these serious felony and misdemeanor charges and potential defenses.
- Guns / Firearms / Weapons Charges
- Read more about how we protect individuals charged with firearm or weapon charges including improper discharge of a firearm, possession of a concealed weapon or firearm, possession of a firearm by a convicted felon, and more.
- Theft / Shoplifting / Property Crimes
- Crimes against property including petit theft, shoplifting, grand theft, scheme to defraud, and trespass.
- White Collar Crime
- While collar crimes typically involve allegations against a person who is respected in the community and holds a skilled, professional job. These crimes often involve allegations of fraud and regulatory violations.
- Felony Charges
- Under Florida law, Felony charges are divided into three categories; third degree felonies punishable by up to five years in Florida State Prison, second degree felonies punishable by fifteen years in Florida State prison, and first degree felonies punishable by thirty years in Florida State prison.
- Misdemeanor Charges
- Under Florida law, misdemeanor charged are divided into two categories: first degree felonies are generally punishable by up to 364 days in county jail while second degree felonies are generally punishable by up to 60 days in jail. Certain misdemeanor charges such as reckless driving are punishable by up to 90 days in jail while other offenses such as a first DUI is punishable by up to six months in jail.
- Criminal Appeals
- College Disciplinary Hearing
- Seal or Expunge a Criminal Record
- Violation of Probation
- Early Termination of Probation
- Find out more about filing a litigating a motion to terminate probation early. Generally, the court is likely to grant a motion to terminate probation when at least one half of the term of probation has been completed and all special conditions have been completed.
Contact Don Pumphrey, Jr. today for a consultation about your criminal charges at (850) 681-7777.